Cooking and Crafting Don’t Mix

I tried to multi-task yesterday.  I don’t typically craft and cook at the same time.  Yesterday, was a long day, and I wanted a little bit of stress relief while I was trying to cook dinner.  Fortunately for my family, the card suffered rather than dinner.

I made this card for the Papertrey Ink Make It Monday #238 Valentine’s Ombre Challenge.  I have had this die for a while and have struggled using it (as with all word dies).  I finally figured out (I’m a little dense) that working with paper die cuts is a lot easier if you apply one layer to a piece of post-it tape.  Then, using the Xyron X adhesive applicator, I was able to easily layer them.  I think I may just have to do this more often!

While trying to cook dinner, I wasn’t paying attention to my watercolor piece of paper.  I had intended to cut the “love”s with the ombre darkest part at the bottom.  But I forgot amidst flipping burgers on the grill. Sigh….Then I tried to add some enamel dots, glitter stuff and other things and finally decided it was good as it was.

However, I also learned that I really like the Sweet Blush paper!  I had it in my sampler pack for a long time, never using it because I don’t typically like pastels.  I don’t know if my affection for lighter saturations is changing, or if it’s just this paper, but I really like the sweet blush!  My next order will include a pack of it.

I did a spot of sweet blush ink behind the loves, but it isn’t picking up in the photo.  It looks lovely and soft in person.

IMG_6177

Supplies:
Papertrey Ink (love die, sweet blush paper, sweet blush ink)
Misc (glitter paper, foam tape, watercolor paper, white cardstock)
American Crafts (glitter tape)
Zig Clean Color Real Brush markers

2 thoughts on “Cooking and Crafting Don’t Mix

Leave a Reply

