Stinkin’ Cute Critters

Slowly but surely.  I’m getting the hang of alcohol markers.  I have found that my skills improved immensely overnight when I purchased Copic markers (I think that’s more of a comment about the quality of Copics compared to other markers than my skills :p).  I have this silly little thing about always wanting to color the darkest parts (shadows) on top.  That would give the illusion of everything having light coming from the bottom.  Yeah, except for some exceptions, that’s not reality.  But today, I discovered if I rotated my image 180° so I was coloring upside down, it was much easier to color so the shadow appeared on the bottom.  I just have to figure out how to trick my brain.  ha!

Coloring doesn’t come naturally to me, but I find these Lawn Fawn images a great motivator.  They are, after all, so stinkin’ cute.  They somehow manage to continue to invade my stash even though “cutesy” isn’t really my style.  Since they manage to make a home in my stash, I have to use them.  Maybe, just maybe, in simple cards like this I’ll learn to happily color and use cutesy.

Until it comes naturally, external challenges are also helpful motivation.  This week, it came via the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Critter challenge!

IMG_6156

Supplies:
Lawn Fawn stamp

SSS ink

DCWV foil vellum

American Crafts gold glitter tape

MISTI

My Favorite Things hybrid ink

Copic N0, N2, N4, N6, N8, 0, R32

2 thoughts on “Stinkin’ Cute Critters

  1. Love this to bits! Your coloring is FABULOUS! I love how you layered the card stock with a touch of glittery heart paper! Thanks so much for playing Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Create with Critters” Challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

