Partial Die Cutting Card

I’m set in my ways.  I know that.  I strive to change and improve what is wrong with myself and in my life.  But the things that are not wrong, I am quite content to leave status quo.  For this reason, I find challenges not always the most inspiring for me.  I’m happy to be where I am in my work.  But the chance of prizes is always a great motivator! 🙂

I thought I wasn’t going to be able to play along with any prizes this last week.  We had a crazy weekend last week, and we refaced our kitchen cabinets this week.  The end result is gorgeous, but it was a long three days of a choatic house and long, long hours.   We emptied about 3/4 of our cabinetry into my creative space!  That meant that amidst the chaos of the house torn apart, I couldn’t retreat to my pretty paper, stamps and ink.  I tinker at least a little bit almost every day, so when I could finally get back in, I was delighted.

I whipped out a quick card, and while I don’t usually like to double up challenges (that feels like cheating to me), I combined the sketch challenge from My Favorite Things and the Anything Goes from Simon Says Stamp Monday.

I was really inspired by the partial diecutting (or maybe it’s the way the die was made) by Kayln Kepner and decided to try it myself.  I initially cut some beautiful floral, but silly me, I messed it up and didn’t have enough to redo.

IMG_4849

Supplies:  Cardstock, misc & Crate Paper Maggie Holmes, Die (Mama Elephant), Stamps (Written in Watercolor, MFT & Perk Me Up), Kaiser craft woodgrain stamp, Misc bling

One thought on “Partial Die Cutting Card

Leave a Reply

