Better Late Than Never

I really couldn’t get my act together last week, or was it it week before?  We had VBS at church, and it just took every bit of mental energy I had!  It was a great week, but it left me drained.  I completed cards for a couple challenges, but I didn’t share them.  I really liked one (surprisingly!) especially so I’m going to share them anyway.

For My Favorite Things sketch – a striped background…you had me at hello.

IMG_4714

The next was for one of the Simon Says challenges.  I can’t remember what exactly it was, misting or masking….something I don’t enjoy doing.  So I went a little creative on it.  I used the falling heart mask and the abandoned coral distress ink to ink the background of watercolor paper.  I then took some pearl mist I made with perfect pearls.  I misted lightly that onto the ink to get it to move and run a little bit.  I really liked the way it worked on watercolor paper as opposed to regular cardstock.  However, it washed out the heart shapes more than I wanted, so I replaced the mask and used fired brick to recolor some of the heart.  It turned out fabulously!  I was quite surprised that I liked it.  I tried to mount it on cardstock completely colored with abandoned coral, but it was too much.  So I made an ombre’ background and it was the perfect touch.

IMG_4713

Leave a Reply

