C’mon, Aren’t They Cute?

I admit it, I usually don’t do cutesy.  I can appreciate it, but I’m more classic in what I create.  So, I’m not sure if it’s that I live on a hobby farm and have goats and chickens (we’ve had cows and pigs as well) or what, but the stamp set from From the Herd stamp set from My Favorite Things had me at “from”.  Seriously!  Aren’t they just the cutest?!

We have had animals of many varieties for the last eight years.  Being as how I’m an indoorsy type of girl, the animals have always been my husband’s charge.  Recently, we moved our chickens to a new coop and area.  In doing so, I’m able to see and talk to the chickens while I tend to our garden.  They’re really growing on me.  I’m finding them to be delightful girls.  I’ll always remember years ago, my ten month old baby girl giggling endlessly at the first set of piglets we had.

These stamps just grabbed a piece of my heart, and my memories.

Typically, I’m a results oriented crafter.  I do cards that I can create quickly, or at least without much fuss.  However, these zig real brush clean color markers are pretty fun to use, so I’ve found a good way to create.  I know, I know, I didn’t like the markers at first.  I found the reason for my dislike; I was working too fast.  When I slowed down so more pigment came out of the brush tip, I found them to be a great tool!  I stamped several of the images and then colored them while watching a tv show with the family.  Well, they watched, I listened and colored.  That’s the way I like to watch tv.  🙂  And, because my fussy cutting skills make me fussy, I decided it would be wise to use my pixscan mat with my silhouette to cut all these bad boys out.

IMG_4720I had enough images to make four cards.  Aren’t they just the cutest?

IMG_4721

As I’m looking at these cards, I can’t help but think how ironic it is that I have learned more about art by watching crafting youtube videos than I learned in my college art class.  Maybe it’s because it was a bit more abstract, and nothing I do is abstract.  I like clean and realistic.  Somehow, these cute little pudgy cows and giant hens (in perspective to the cow) just stole my heart!

IMG_4719

I mean, really?  Cow’s it going?

Okay, okay.  It’s just me.

Leave a Reply

