New Favorite – Fossilized Amber

I’m not one who participates in challenges to stretch myself.  I’m very happy with my style and my cards.  So, when I participate in a challenge and find something new, or am stretched and I like it, I’m usually taken aback.

This Simon Says Stamp challenge did that to me.  Not really the challenge so much, but because of the challenge, I found a new favorite color!

If you know me, you know that Fall and Winter are by far my favorite seasons.  I tend to think of inappropriate words when thinking of summer.  But, being as how I’m trying really hard to keep my thoughts and words positive and glorifying to God, I’m not going to dwell on my dislike of summer.  However, because of my natural inclination to avoid summer, I have very little in my stash that is summer themed.  Most people tend to hibernate during winter, I hibernate during summer.  So, to do a summer challenge, well, that’s a challenge!  But what do I think of when I think of summer.  The bright, yellow, HOT sun.

I made a mask with a SSS die and inked with distress ink Fossilized Amber.  I found I really like the color!  And, I really liked the card in general, so I decided to make more in different colors.

IMG_4707

IMG_4708

As I was making the card with abandoned color I realized that the card looked very much like the sketch for the My Favorite Things Card Challenge.  And, because I happened to use the new Written in Watercolor (adore!) stamps, I’m entering this card for that as well.

5 thoughts on “New Favorite – Fossilized Amber

  1. Fantastic series of thank you cards! They are always good to have on hand. Thanks for playing along with us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

