Yay! Card {and Card Photography Trick}

My nephew is graduating High School in a couple weeks.  This is a picture of my sister’s pride and joy.  {to protect the innocent, I have blurred his face}.

IMG_3923Yes, he is wearing a suit of armor made entirely of pillows and bed sheets.  Apparently a 10 year old cousin with a single shot nerf dart gun demands this fancy get-up.  Yeah.  This happened.  Don’t ask.  That’s all I can say with a straight face.

Anywhoo…I needed a graduation card for him.  Although, a ticket to the looney bin may possibly be more appropriate.  At any rate, all of my congratulations stamps are girly.  And while I have given he and his brother $20 in pennies, or a child’s coloring book for Christmas a few years ago {money enclosed, of course}, I didn’t think a girly card was an appropriate joke for a graduation.

Enter Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge.  Use a Simon Says Stamp product.  Easy peasy!  I have a collection of stamps {previously mentioned girly congratulations stamps}.  But I pulled out a recent monthly kit birthday stamp set and used the Yay! sentiment.  With the help of the brilliant tool called MISTI, I whipped out this card.

IMG_4084Now, here I confess.  I tried to foil one of the YAY! sentiments.  I used an opal foil, so as to give it a metallic color, but not be opaque.  It looks pretty neat.  But I had intended for it to be the focal point.  Of which, it wasn’t.  So I had to tear my card apart and add something more to it.  I don’t normally do this, I usually live by the done is better than perfect motto.  But this one, I couldn’t let it go.

And I’m delighted I took it one step farther adding the “let’s celebrate” banner.

Here is a close up of the foiling.

IMG_4083Supplies:  Simon Says Stamp (sentiment stamps), Ranger ink (because all my SSS inks were girly colored! – I have a problem, I tell you….), MME (enamel dots)

And now for my solution to photographing cards…..

There are a million and a half ways to photograph a card.  It seems there best way to decide how to set up your system is depending on your budget.  Me, I’m a cheapskate.  I’m not going to spend money if I already have something that will work.

Enter my laptop, a roll of white paper and a window.  Yup.  Easy.

I have this roll of white art paper by Melissa & Doug (any white or butcher paper would work).  I place my laptop at an angle to my source of natural light.  Place the unrolled paper over the screen and keyboard of my laptop and set the card on the keyboard.  I make any slight movements that may be needed to reduce shadows.  Viola!  Cheap card photography studio.

IMG_4085After taking the photo, I make any lighting (brightness and warmth) adjustments to my RAW file in Photoshop Elements, add my watermark and save.  It’s the fastest method I’ve found, partly because I don’t have a space to keep a permanent “studio” set up for photography.

One thought on “Yay! Card {and Card Photography Trick}

Leave a Reply

