Blessed Card (Simon Says Stamp Monday Pastel Challenge)

Our family has recently enrolled in the Samaritan Ministries health care cost sharing program (an alternative to insurance).  As part of the program, each month we are to send our “share” to a family who has submitted a medical bill for sharing.  We are encouraged to send a little note of encouragement along with the money.

Being a cardmaker, I was delighted about this, because I think that sending a card is sending a little bit of paper brotherly love.  Well, when I opened our first assignment letter, I saw that it not only included the family who we are to send our financial contribution, but a list of 10 other families who had special needs, but that weren’t able to be submitted into the program for cost-sharing (all included in our letter were pre-existing conditions).  They encourage, but do not require, you to send a note of encouragement to these people as well.

Well, this just brought me a smile!  You see, I have a huge pile of cards in my space.  Despite sending out usually at least 6 cards a week, I still make way more than I send out.  Selling them is just not my thing.  To me, it’s not worth the trouble to go through the work of selling them, I’d much rather bless someone and send them some paper love, either as a note directly from me, or as blank cards as gifts.  But I was delighted to know that I have a use, that would be meaningful, for these extra cards I make!  (When I make a card, I usually make at least two, unless it’s a very time consuming card).

Of course, despite having a stack already, last night I wanted to make something new.  I had seen earlier in the week the Simon Says Stamp Monday Card Challenge to use pastels, so I decided to give it a whirl.  I usually prefer richer saturations, so I don’t use many pastels.

Without further ado, here is my card.  With the help of MISTI, I was able to make 6 cards in about an hour (I made almost 8, but I messed up 2 at the very end).

IMG_4263

IMG_4265(I apologize for the pictures, I am using my iPhone to take the photos.  The memory card for my camera had a mental breakdown, and I’ve ordered a new one, but for some reason, it’s on the three-week delivery plan….go figure!  LOL)

Supplies:  Simon Says Stamp (white pigment ink), Bazzill, Neenah cardstock, Hero Arts soft pool ink, The Twinery, Verve stamp, Versamark, Hero Arts white embossing powder

One thought on “Blessed Card (Simon Says Stamp Monday Pastel Challenge)

  1. These cards are stunning! I love how they have such a delicate color palette, yet they are so sophisticated. I really like the background dots and how they look against the lovely scrolled script. The bit of twine adds just the perfect touch of texture and they are perfect for whatever family will receive them. Completely versatile, yet personalized because you made them yourself. I agree with you wholeheartedly that homemade cards really send a message of love! Hope your camera memory card comes sometime before Winter again (ha, ha– love how those things take forever sometimes), but in the meantime, thank you so much for sharing these lovely pastel cards with us for this week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

