Birthday Card

The challenge for Simon Says Stamp Monday was to use one stamp in many ways.  Sounds easy and challenging at the same time.  Challenging mostly because I’m not a techinque motivated crafter.  But I thought it would be a good challenge for myself, and I had fun creating the card.

I used a Simon Says Stamp stamp set and pigment inks.  I typically reach for dye inks because pigment inks take longer to dry, and I’m very clumsy, destined to smudge the ink, even after heat setting it.  But I wanted to make it look like my balloons were translucent and have some depth, so I opted for pigment ink.

The larger balloons are stamped straight with the pigment ink.  The smaller balloons, I stamped the first impression straight with ink.  Then I reinked the same stamp, stamped it off onto a pinstripe background stamp from My Favorite Things and restamped the same image.  It gave the appearance of stripes on the balloon.  I had planned to do a third image with clear embossing powder, so I heat set the images.  However, I decided that I didn’t want to add more balloons because I really like simplicity and minimalism in images.  So I restamped the small balloons with versamark and used clear embossing powder.
SSS Monday 323Supplies:  Simon Says Stamp (stamp, clear embossing powder & stitched rectangle die), Colorbox pigment inks, Papertrey Ink printed vellum, Hero Arts charcoal ink, misc rhinestones

One thought on “Birthday Card

  1. Lovely Graphic design using the balloons. Fabulous card. Thanks for playing along with us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

