Easter Cards

Being as how I’m not a very social person, I don’t tend to get together with friends unless I have a reason.  Granted, the reason can be a variety of things, but there has to be a reason.  Just to get together for coffee is a rarity for me.  Like once a year or so.

But, a few weeks ago I found this stamp set from Papertrey Ink.  Typically, before I buy a stamp set, I have to think through if there are several uses for which I can apply it.  Holiday stamps rarely make the cut, since each holiday is only once a year.  This Papertrey set though, had me willing to break my own quasi-rule.  I still felt as if I had to justify the purchase though, so I messaged a friend and said “hey, you want to make some Easter cards?”  Hey, any excuse to buy a set of stamps is a good excuse for me.

This afternoon I was playing with the stamps, trying to come up with a few ideas for a card party.  Here is what I came up with.  (I apologize for the wonky formatting, I’m still learning WordPress).

First up is yellow roses – this has to be the most beautiful stamp set ever created.  Or, it is at least a contender for the title.  Altenew made this gorgeous stamp set, but I’m not sure I’d try it without the MISTI.

Second is a card I was trying to create using a very clean and simple design.

Lastly, a watercolor splotchy card that I actually like!  While I greatly enjoy coloring images with watercolor (it’s my preferred method for coloring), I have a hard time creating cards with free form watercolor.  It isn’t a controlled or predictable medium, and I’m a very controlled crafter.  I’ll share my philosophy on that later 😉 LOL.  I used the new Tim Holtz Cracked Pistachio ink.  It’s gorgeous!
IMG_3559

IMG_3560

IMG_3561

Supplies:

Yellow Roses Card:  Papertrey Ink Easter Alleluias, Bazzill Grapefruit Bliss cardstock, Neenah 110# Exact Index, Tsukineko Dandelion, Hero Arts Butter Bar, Green Hills, Soft Cantaloupe inks, Papertrey Ink Ripe Avocado ink, Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangles dies, My Mind’s Eye pearls, Ranger Liquid Platinum Embossing Powder

Stripe Card:  Papertrey Ink Easter Alleluias, Bazzill cardstock,  Tsukineko Dandelion, Hero Arts Cup O Joe ink, Ranger Liquid Platinum Embossing Powder, Neenah 110# Exact Index, American Crafts Crate Paper Maggie Holmes Styleboard paper

Watercolor Card:Papertrey Ink Easter Alleluias, Ranger Liquid Platinum Embossing Powder, Recollections Blue Ombre cardstock, Watercolor paper, Tim Holtz Distress Ink Tumbled Glass, Broken China, Cracked Pistachio, Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangle Dies

Leave a Reply

