PTI Make It Monday #204

I’ve not played along with many card challenge sites, mostly because I haven’t had that many card supplies.  I have often followed along with Papertrey Ink’s Make It Monday challenge, but having only a few dies from them, I never felt it appropriate to play.  However, I recently purchased some stamps and inks, so I can play now.

Today’s challenge was to do watercolor smooshing.  Now, I will be honest.  This goes against every fiber of my creativity.  It’s messy, it’s not controlled, it’s unpredictable, it’s everything artsy that is just not me.  I am clean, simple, straight lined and controlled.  This card, well it’s not.  If it weren’t for the challenge, I’d round file it (toss it in the garbage).  And I’m not saying that just fishing for compliments.  This style is just not my cup of tea.  But I decided to embrace the challenge, and take a messy, uncontrolled piece and utilize it in a controlled card.  As best I could, anyway.

PTIMIM#204

While I don’t love the card, I know someone else will.  So I’m going to send it out this Easter, because what really matters, anyway, is what the sentiment says.  “He is not here, for He is risen, as He said.”  That’s really all that matters, not my like of clean lines and splotch free project.

Supplies:  Papertrey Ink Easter Alleluias, Hero Arts clear embossing powder, Papertrey Ink Hibiscus burst, Sweet Blush, Aqua Mist, & Lavender Moon inks, Bazzill cardstock, Neenah Exact Index cardstock, Simon Says stamp dies, WRMK corner chomper 1/8″, sequin

5 thoughts on “PTI Make It Monday #204

  1. I love it…but then, I’m all into art that’s a little bit out of my control. I hate measuring…I love free form.

    How did you get the white text? Was it just thick white ink? Some sort of pre-treatment that keeps the water colors from soaking into the paper there?

    Like

    • Thanks! Isn’t it funny how we’re all into different things and process differently? LOL

      I used clear embossing powder. I stamped and heat set it before I did the watercolor. If I did it again, I’d use white powder instead of clear.

      Like

  2. Im glad you have a more stamps now and you get to play along more. I know MIM is one of my favorites to play in. Love the way your card turned out ! Beautiful!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

