Thank You card with Simon Says Stamp “Flowers On My Mind”

In my attempts to be an encourager to people, via an art that is not as common anymore, handwriting, I have been sending out a lot of cards.  I tried to always make them, even though I didn’t enjoy making cards.

About a year ago, I was looking for a new challenge, so I began reading Jennifer McGuire’s blog.  I was an instant fan, for two reasons.  First, her cards were often clean and simple.  I like simple, I adore white space.  Secondly, she’s incredibly organized.  I’m not by nature organized, but I’ve learned that I function much better when I am disciplined in this regard.   Jennifer manages her stash and process with precision.  I can greatly respect this, and find it extremely encouraging to me.  Many artists I’ve tried to learn from in the past function as the stereotypical artist – in chaos or mess.  I cannot function in chaos so to learn from people who do was counterproductive and stressful.  To see someone create in control was to me, a huge motivator.  So, I bought a few stamps and some good inks.  With tips from Jennifer, I learned how to use inks but still be clean and tidy.  I was hooked!  And the best part is that I was able to share my cards with others, and be a blessing to them.

Thank you card DeeperThanPaper

Today’s card is a card I made using my favorite technique – white space.  I adore white space.  In our busy, chaotic, over stimulating world, white space is a place of rest to the eye.  It’s a thing of design beauty in my opinion.

I was able to mass produce this card easily with the help of the MISTI tool.  It’s an investment for sure, but it’s a fantastic tool.

For the time being, I’m only going to list supplies instead of provide links.  It simply isn’t worth my time to provide links.  If I gain a readership and can monetize the links through affiliation, I’ll consider it.  For now though, a list is all I will provide.  I hope that is enough information.

Blessings

Supplies:  Neenah Exact Index 110 lb, Recollections Passion Fruit cardstock, Simon Says Stamps Flowers on My Mind, MISTI, Colorbox Coral, Pink & Peony pigment inks, misc gem

Leave a Reply

